Expedition 64 Flight Engineers

Exploration 64 Flight Engineers Kate Rubins of NASA and Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov of Roscosmos are arranged to leave the International Spaceport station Friday, April16 The 3 team members are envisioned inside the Kibo lab module from JAXA (Japan Aerospace Expedition Firm). Credit: NASA

Exploration 64 Flight Engineer Kate Rubins of NASA and 2 Roscosmos cosmonauts are set up to end their objective on the International Spaceport Station Friday, April16 Protection of departure from the station and landing in the world will air reside on NASA Tv, the NASA app, and the company’s site.

Rubins, in addition to Russian cosmonauts Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov, will close the hatch to the Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft at 6: 10 p.m. EDT to start the journey back to Earth. The trio will undock from the space-facing port of the station’s Poisk module at 9: 34 p.m., heading for a parachute-assisted landing at 12: 56 a.m. (10: 56 a.m. Kazakhstan time) Saturday, April 17, on the steppe of Kazakhstan, southeast of the remote town of Dzhezkazgan.

The 3 team members will finish up a 185- day objective covering 2,960 orbits of Earth and 78.4 million miles. Rubins is finishing her 2nd flight, with 300 cumulative days in area. Ryzhikov is finishing his 2nd spaceflight, with 358 cumulative days. This was Kud-Sverchkov’s very first spaceflight.

In advance of Soyuz departure protection, station leader Ryzhikov will turn over command of the station to NASA astronaut Shannon Walker throughout a modification of command event. The occasion will air survive on NASA TELEVISION, the NASA app, and the company’s site start at 3: 45 p.m. Thursday, April 15.

On Friday, April 16, protection of the goodbyes and hatch closure for the leaving team members will start at 5: 45 p.m., followed by undocking protection at 9: 15 p.m., with protection of the Soyuz deorbit burn and landing start at 11: 30 p.m.

At the time of undocking, Exploration 65 will officially start aboard the station, with brand-new station leader Walker, NASA astronauts Victor Glover, Michael Hopkins, and Mark Vande Hei, Japan Aerospace Expedition Firm ( JAXA) astronaut Soichi Noguchi, and cosmonauts Oleg Novitskiy and Pyotr Dubrov.

Later on this month, NASA’s SpaceX Crew-2 members– NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough and Megan McArthur, JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and ESA (European Area Firm) astronaut Thomas Pesquet– will sign up with the Exploration 65 members aboard the station.

After landing, the Soyuz MS-17 team will break up, with Rubins going back to her house in Houston, while the cosmonauts fly back to their training base in Star City, Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here